Being charged with a DWI can be a stressful times in one's life. Suddenly you are facing license and insurance consequences as well as the possibility of jail time. Hiring an experienced attorney can not only help you navigate your options, but the attorney can take a look at your case to determine possible defenses and case strategies. Together, our office will help you with the next steps in the process including: developing a case strategy, analyzing your defenses, and building the best case. Below are some frequently asked questions (remember, every case is different and this post should in no way constitute as specific advice for your DWI - please contact and experienced attorney to talk about your specific case).
So what impact can a DWI conviction have?
A DWI in North Carolina can leave you facing up to 36 months in prison with a maximum fine of up to $10,000. (N.C. Gen. Stat. 20-179(f3)-(k), your license can be suspended by the DMV, and you could be required to place the ignition interlock in your vehicle. If you have your CDL License that can be revoked as well.
Am I going to jail?
Not everyone who has been charged with a DWI gets jail time. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your charge, you could be faced with a probationary sentence, points on your insurance, and tasked with completing a substance abuse treatment course along with community service and court costs and fees.
Can I get Driving Privileges?
In some instances if you are found guilty of a DWI, you could be eligible for limited driving privileges. Several factors are considered such as: did you have a valid license at the time of the charge or a license that was expired less than one year prior; have you received a DWI conviction within seven years of this conviction date; have you already completed your substance abuse assessment? There are other considerations which an experienced attorney will be able to walk you through.
How Long Will Stay On My Record?
In North Carolina a DWI conviction is not currently eligible for an expunction under our current laws. If you are found to be not guilty or if the charge is dismissed you can speak to your attorney about getting the dismissal or not guilty expunged from your record.
If you have been charged with a DWI, call/text us today. We offer FREE consultations and would be happy to discuss your case with you.